If you have been day-dreaming that you can surf the Internet on your living room TV, you dream is about to come true. Unfortunately in reality the experience will not live up to your expectation. That’s because it’s hard to work on the sofa! Really! Nevertheless, when my butts are glued to the sofa my AppleTV has an internet browser for me to update myself on the result of 4D and to browse very simple sites. Maybe someday when I’m really desperate I could use it to reply to emails too.

Some people install Firefox but I like speedy Web-kit. Couch Surfer Lite by Fire Core LLC (maker of aTV-Flash) is my choice. Let’s install it.

  1. Download Couch Surfer Lite from here. It’s free.
  2. Double-click on the downloaded file to un-Tar it. You’ll get a copy of “CouchSurfer.frappliance”.
  3. Upload “CouchSurfer.frappliance” to ~/frontrow .
  4. Issue the following 3 commands in your Terminal app.
    • ssh frontrow@appletv.local
    • sudo mount -uw /
    • sudo cp /Users/frontrow/CouchSurfer.frappliance /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/PlugIns/

Take note that you must issue the last command, shown above broken into two lines, as a single command (like this.) Reboot and you shall see a “Browser” on the your Frontrow main menu.

Using the Couch Surfer is simple enough. Press the “Play” button on your remote once to bring up the humongous mouse cursor, and press it again to “click” on the highlighted link. Pressing the “Menu” button will exit cursor mode and return you to the browsing mode.

Although Couch Surfer lets you save Bookmarks, the list gets messy over time. It’s also much easier to add new entries using your computer then manually keying in the long urls. Simply edit the following file:

/Users/frontrow/Library/Application Support/CouchSurfer/Bookmarks.plist

It’s not hard; just look at the entries enclosed within each tag or duplicate one to create a new entry. Mac users can use the excellent donation ware Pref Setter to edit .plist easily. Be sure to exit Couch Surfer for your new Bookmarks to take effect.

Have fun with your AppleTV!

I wish I can get my SMS to show up on my big screen TV too….

